|
Recently I have received messages from members of this site that proceed to tell me how they `loved` my profile, how they and I will quote their words exactly.........`love to know you better`, " love to exchange letters", etc and then forward their e-mail address to me......Oddly enough these people have all been from African regions.
I have seen this many times in the past in a site I administer based here in Canada, these people, all thus far have been women contacting men, exhanging messages, e-mails, etc. and then suddenly begin asking for money and give some sob excuse about how travellors cheques, etc they have take 4 weeks to cash because of the difference between western countries and African countries. I am giving it just a matter of time before we begin seeing the same thing from women in Russia, they are the worst for it and I might add have themselves quite the profitable scam going on......
For those that do receive such messages, beginning with the usual signs such as `love to learn more", etc, etc, etc........pay very very close to the grammar, usually the grammar gives them away but just in case it doesn`t don`t let yourself get scammed by falling victim to their little plan of trickery...
Should you do receive such a message for your own sake ignore it, failing that if you choose to take a chance on somebody then by all means exchange messages but with each one coming usually from a Yahoo e-mail address run an IP trace, if the traces prove to be consistent than you might just end up with one that is sincere. But in most cases every IP address will differ and 9 times out of 10 will origionate from an internet cafe.
Should you do find yourself douped, even though you can kiss your money good bye there are ways to teach the person a lesson simply by logging everything, tracing IP Addresses and reporting it to the governing body of her particular country......ie.undeclared income, governments don`t like it when they dont get their share in the form of taxes.
Some common e-mail addresses use web based servers while others don`t. Common domains are .ru, gawab.com. if you receive e message with an e-mail address with the domain being .org or .net and she claims to be from Russia........don`t even acknowledge her because they do not use those two domains in Russia. |